Punjab Government Jobs | Punjab Government | Government of Punjab | Punjab jobs | new jobs in Punjab


Punjab Government Jobs Army Jobs in Punjab
Education Jobs in Punjab Government Education Jobs in Punjab
 Government Jobs in Lahore Instructor Jobs in Punjab
Lectures Jobs in Punjab Librarian jobs in Punjab
Navy Jobs in Punjab  Pakistan Air Force Jobs in Punjab
Police Jobs in Punjab  Principal Jobs in Punjab
 Professors Jobs in Punjab Rangers Jobs in Punjab
Research Jobs in Punjab PPSC Jobs in Punjab
Teachers Jobs in Punjab University Jobs in Punjab

Government of Punjab, Pakistan

The Government of the Punjab a provincial government in the federal structure of Pakistan, is based in Lahore, the capital of the Punjab Province.

The Punjab province is the country’s most populous region and is home to the Punjabis and various other groups. Neighbouring areas are Sindh to the south, Balochistan and Federally Administered Tribal Areas to the west, the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (formerly North West Frontier Province (NWFP)), Azad Kashmir, Indian controlled Jammu, Kashmir, Ladakh and Islamabad to the north, and Indian Punjab and Rajasthan to the east. The main languages are Punjabi and Urdu and the provincial capital is Lahore. The name Punjab literally translates from Persian into the words ‘Panj’ (پانج) five, and ‘Aab’ (آب) water respectively, which can be translated as “five water” (hence the poetic name land of the five rivers), referring to the Beas, Ravi, Sutlej, Chenab and Jhelum rivers. Part of the Indus river also lies in Punjab, but it is not considered one of the “five” rivers.


There are 48 departments in Punjab government. Each Department is headed by a provincial Minister (elected member of the provincial assembly) and a provincial Secretary (a civil servant of usually BPS-20 or BPS-21). All ministers report to the Chief Minister, who is the Chief Executive; and all secretaries report to Chief Secretary Punjab, who is a BPS-22 grade bureaucrat. The Chief Secretary is appointed by the Prime Minister of Pakistan.

In addition to these departments, there are several Autonomous Bodies and Attached Departments that report directly to either the Secretaries or the Chief Secretary.